Still I Rize Entry #1

Still I Rize is a new series of posts that will chronicle the healing journey I will be undertaking this year. Most of my social media followers know me as a dedicated hip hop artist; community warrior; educator; poet; radio host/producer….but like a lot of my peers for all the good I share with the worlds I navigate through; I also have flaws; tainted hollows of my subconscious mind that can and have sabotaged my ability to give and receive in a loving; respectful way. These tremors; triggers; traumas that I experienced during childhood; adolescence and early adulthood continue to resurface on occasion despite healthy eating; regular meditation; positive friends and family; exercise; ceremonies; elder consultations and creating artistically.
I’m tired of past pain robbing me of experiencing potential goodness in the present. I moved from victim to survivor years ago but now I need to transcend survivor. Just surviving as it turns out doesn’t facilitate true thriving….especially where relationships are concerned. Why am making this journey public? I’m already a public person and many people, especially youth consider me a role model. Maybe this will help others in addition to myself. As an MC I acknowledge my ego makes me stubborn and as a poet my emotions make me hyper sensitive so this level of commitment to a subconscious
detox will not be easy in the least. And I will not be able to do this on my own. Readers will come to know who will be supporting me and how as the months progress. This self initiated spiritual intervention was motivated by the loss of someone I care deeply for and my genuine disappointment in my own inability to be a balanced person on a daily basis in all aspects of my life. Sunday January 19th after heading home in a very distraught emotional state I lost focus and was almost hit by a car at a major intersection. In a split second my physical existence was almost vaporized. I have a second chance. Without health of mind body emotions and soul we have nothing. You are welcome to join the journey of the freedom of my mind and liberation of my soul one step at a time.

20140121-160916.jpg

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

