Contemplation

On my way home after participating on a panel of community artists for Mayworks my train stopped. Lights went off and then emergency lights came up.

The Train vox said “we are currently experiencing a power outage both ways at Spadina Station. emergency crews are on there way. We apologize for the inconvenience. Standard procedure dictates that we will be at stand still for half an hour”.

“Half an Hour!!” everyone except me exclaims, outraged at the notion of being trapped in a train underground for a mere 30mins.

30mins….that’s shorter than child labour or a labour strike or laboring at work…lol.

I used that 30 mins of quite to contemplate my current non-status First Nations…non marital status…non corporate status artist…lol. Naw I made that up…I actually thought about how messed it was the cell phones were non service providers underground what if were trapped indefinitely…and I need to contact the outside world…Naw I made that up too…actually I started reciting one of my 2011 pieces:

Sitting swaying to my own verbalations
Like a cryogenic stasis
I b frozen in my own medi-native meditations
In my last reincarnation
shit wuz hard
In this lifetime shit is harder
Once wuz a blip on ur radar
Now I b deep sea level sonar
Once wuz jus a face
Now I b a face wit a name
Yea I caught a little fame
Yea Red Slam is too blame

So I move to run
And u won’t let go
Won’t let go
Won’t let go
U hold me tight
Tell me to take it slo
Take it slo
Take it slo
U look into my eyes
Say Im an inspiration
Ur frequency rhythmic inhalation

And I’m making it I’m making it I’m making it

And I’m making it I’m making it I’m making it

Holding Haters close
But my crew even closer
Rizin higher like a star has been
Da ultimate roller coaster ride—
Do blk skins or red skins
Go to heaven when they die?
Bob said heaven is right here on earth
But it’s hot as hell and it’s only getting worse
Lately I been feelin’ da price of fame is a curse
After each show everytime we rehearse my love my hate for dis is only become definitively emersed

So I move to run
And u won’t let go
Won’t let go
Won’t let go
U hold me tight
Tell me to take it slo
Take it slo
Take it slo
U look into my eyes
Say Im an inspiration
Ur frequency rhythmic inhalation

And I’m making it I’m making it I’m making it

And I’m making it I’m making it I’m making it

This is bigger than me
This is bigger than us
Rise and Fall
Fall and Rise
Syncopating inter-tribal rhythms we must

2x

So I move to run
And u won’t let go
Won’t let go
Won’t let go
U hold me tight
Tell me to take it slo
Take it slo
Take it slo
U look into my eyes
Say Im an inspiration
Ur frequency rhythmic inhalation

And I’m making it I’m making it I’m making it
And I’m making it I’m making it I’m making it

Emergency Lights

20120507-230435.jpg

Mahlikah Contemplating

20120507-230619.jpg

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

