Our Health Should Be In Our Own Hands

NAHO is no no! It’s a wrap! In a time when Aboriginal Peoples across Kanata got the highest rates of all the major silent killers they cut NAHO. Our water is sick; our housing is inadequate; unemployment is up and education is still not a funding priority and you cut NAHO. It’s time our people thought seriously about putting our health back in our own hands. Our hands can heal. We need our medicines. We need the teachings for those medicines. We need our traditional elders. We need our clean water and our clean soil.

Perhaps this is a wake up call we needed. All I know is when I don’t feel well I don’t go to my doctor first or consult my local drug dealer excuse me pharmacist. I take my medicines, boil those medicines and drink those teas, bathe in those teas, steam and inhale those teas…rub those oils and ointments…and speak to an elder.

It’s been almost 4 years since I have consulted my family doctor. Since putting my health in my hands.

NAHO Gone!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

