Our Intellectual Property…Whose Property??

I remember when I attended an artist retreat in 2006 at the Banff Centre in Alberta. It was for First Nations artists who were moving from arts practitioners to facilitators in non-native settings. A Salish woman’s concern was having her traditional teachings appropriated by white teachers and administrators. At the time I was really just learning how to deliver workshops so this question of intellectual property and indigenous knowledge was very new to me. Today I am working in diverse communities and have worked with cultural educators and elders to work with teachings in a respectful and authentic way in the classroom; I do think there are certain teachings and cultural practices that should be reserved for people within a given community who have been entrusted with that knowledge to be the keepers and protectors of that knowledge. If the Illuminati can protect their intellectual property…why shouldn’t we.

Claiming Intellectual Property

22 Comments

  1. Great day. Extremely cool blog!! Man .. Outstanding .. Incredible .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally…I am glad to locate numerous helpful info correct here within the post. Thank you for sharing.. 287176

  2. whole life insurance rates
    I enjoy what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and exposure! Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve added you guys to blogroll on whole life insurance.

  3. Good Morning, I just stopped by to visit your website and thought I’d say thank you.

  4. This writing has inspired me to continue focusing on my own blog

  5. Ive writers block that comes and goes and I require to discover a method to get rid of my writers block. It can occasionally be so bad I can barley make sentences. Any suggestions? 143574

    • I’m gonna create a nu page on unspoken release and tips on keeping ur creative writing flowin’ cuz of ur comment and others like this. Look for it.

  6. Thank you for having the time to discuss this topic. I truly appreciate it. Ill stick a link of this entry in my website. 991159

  7. Wonderful internet site, determined several something entirely new! Subscribed RSS for later, aspire to see far more updates exactly like it. 594327

  8. Paper rolls extremely fantastic read you know alot about this subject i see! 380584

  9. I like this weblog so significantly, saved to my bookmarks . 803023

  10. When I saw this page was like wow. Thanks for putting your effort in publishing this write-up. 4694

  11. Blogs ou should be reading […]Here is a great Blog You might Find Interesting that we Encourage You[…] 603604

  12. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a weblog website? The account helped me a appropriate deal. I had been just a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided brilliant transparent concept 497154

  13. You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site! 240720

  14. I came across this great from you out of sheer luck and never believe lucky enough to say also credit you for any job nicely done. 401408

  15. I like what you guys are up too. Such smart function and reporting! Carry on the superb works guys I?ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I feel it will improve the value of my internet internet site 366135

  16. You produced various excellent points there. I did a search on the subject and located a lot of people will have exactly the same opinion along with your weblog. 832340

  17. Yay google is my king assisted me to locate this outstanding site ! . 489305

  18. fantastic work Outstanding weblog here! Also your web website a great deal up quick! What web host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate link on your host? I want my web site loaded up as quick as yours lol 465452

  19. Hi! Fantastic post! Please do tell us when I will see a follow up! 923684

  20. Wow, incredible weblog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you created running a blog look simple. The entire look of your website is magnificent, neatly as the content material! 628780


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

